A Disaster Recovery Center Opens in San Patricio County

AUSTIN, Texas – The State of Texas/Federal Disaster Recovery Center (DRC) in San Patricio County is relocating five miles away from its current location.

The center closes at the following site:

Bay Vista Shopping Center
2334 Hwy. 361
Ingleside, TX  78362
Closes: Friday, Dec. 1 at 6 p.m.

A new DRC will open at 9 a.m. Saturday, Dec. 2, 2017, in the city of Aransas Pass, at the following site:

Myers & Gallagher Real Estate Co.
(Tent located in Parking Lot)
109 W. Wilson Ave.
Aransas Pass, TX  78336
Opens: Saturday, from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.
then Monday-Saturday 9 a.m. to 6 p.m., and Sundays from noon to 5 p.m.

Disaster recovery centers offer in-person support to individuals and businesses in counties included in the Texas federal disaster declaration for Hurricane Harvey. Recovery specialists from the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA), the State and other agencies will be at the new DRC to talk about assistance and to help anyone who needs guidance in filing an application.

Disaster recovery centers are accessible to people with disabilities, and are equipped with assistive technology equipment such as amplified telephones, phones that display text, amplified listening devices and magnifiers. Video Remote Interpreting is available and in-person sign language is available by request. The centers also have accessible parking, ramps and restrooms.

American Sign Language interpreters are available to assist at a DRC. Requests can be made via text message at (470) 379-5943. Survivors will need to provide their name, the address of the DRC they will be visiting, the date and time of their visit and the type of sign language they are requesting. All requests for help should be made at least 24 hours in advance of a DRC visit to ensure assistance is available.

Before visiting a DRC, eligible homeowners, renters and businesses should register with FEMA in any of the following ways:

Online at DisasterAssistance.gov.Phone 800-621-3362 (voice, 711/VRS-Video Relay Service) (TTY: 800-462-7585). Multilingual operators are available (press 2 for Spanish).Via the FEMA app, available for Apple and Android mobile devices. To download visit: fema.gov/mobile-app.Disaster survivors can find the location of nearby DRCs online at www.fema.gov/DRC.

The following information is helpful when registering:

Address of the location where the damage occurred (pre-disaster address).Current mailing address.Current telephone number.Insurance information.Total household annual income.Routing and account number for checking or savings account (this allows FEMA to directly transfer disaster assistance funds into a bank account).A description of disaster-caused damage and losses.

Homeowners, renters and businesses in Aransas, Austin, Bastrop, Bee, Brazoria, Caldwell, Calhoun, Chambers, Colorado, DeWitt, Fayette, Fort Bend, Galveston, Goliad, Gonzales, Grimes, Hardin, Harris, Jackson, Jasper, Jefferson, Karnes, Kleberg, Lavaca, Lee, Liberty, Matagorda, Montgomery, Newton, Nueces, Orange, Polk, Refugio, Sabine, San Jacinto, San Patricio, Tyler, Victoria, Walker, Waller and Wharton  counties may be eligible for help.

For more information on Hurricane Harvey and Texas recovery, visit the Hurricane Harvey disaster web page at www.fema.gov/disaster/4332, or Facebook at http://www.facebook.com/FEMAharvey, the FEMA Region 6 Twitter account at twitter.com/FEMARegion6, or the Texas Division of Emergency Management website at www.dps.texas.gov/dem/.

Original author: mary.j.edmon
Disaster Recovery Center in Newton County Transiti...
NHC Atlantic Outlook

Latest Videos

View all videos