More Texas Counties Now Eligible for FEMA Assistance

AUSTIN, Texas – Individuals and households affected by Hurricane Harvey in Grimes and Caldwell counties are now eligible to register for disaster assistance from FEMA.

At the request of the State of Texas, these counties were added to the August 25 disaster declaration, bringing the total number of Texas counties designated for Individual Assistance to 41.

Disaster assistance for homeowners and renters may include grants to help pay for temporary housing and essential home repairs, as well as other serious disaster-related needs such as medical and dental expenses. Texans who suffered damage or loss as a result of Hurricane Harvey are encouraged to apply for assistance.

Survivors may register for assistance the following ways:

FEMA grants do not have to be repaid. FEMA assistance is nontaxable and will not affect eligibility for Social Security, Medicaid or other federal benefits.

Those who had flood or storm damage should register with FEMA even if they have insurance.

FEMA cannot duplicate insurance payments, but underinsured applicants may be eligible for help after their insurance claims have been settled.

The SBA is the federal government’s primary source of money for the long-term rebuilding of disaster-damaged private property. SBA helps businesses of all sizes, private non-profit organizations, homeowners and renters fund repairs or rebuilding efforts and cover the cost of replacing lost or disaster-damaged personal property. These disaster loans cover losses not fully compensated by insurance or other recoveries and do not duplicate benefits of other agencies or organizations.

Applicants may apply online using SBA’s secure website at

In addition, applicants can get more information on SBA disaster assistance by calling SBA’s Customer Service Center at (800) 659-2955, by visiting, or by emailing This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.. Individuals who are deaf or hard of hearing may call (800) 877-8339. Completed applications should be mailed to U.S. Small Business Administration, Processing and Disbursement Center, 14925 Kingsport Road, Fort Worth, TX 76155.

For more information on Hurricane Harvey and Texas recovery, visit the Hurricane Harvey disaster web page, the FEMA Harvey Facebook page, the @FEMARegion6 Twitter account, and the Texas Division of Emergency Management website.

Original author: Carmen.Castro
NHC Eastern North Pacific Outlook
October 17, 2017

Latest Videos

View all videos